Veteran Space Shuttle Astronauts Selected for 2008 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction

Style News Wire | 1/24/2008, 3:56 p.m.
John E. Blaha, Robert D. Cabana, Bryan D. O'Connor and Loren J. Shriver will join an elite group of American ...

     This is the seventh group of Space Shuttle astronauts named to the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame. Earlier inductees represent the Mercury, Gemini, Apollo, Skylab and Apollo-Soyuz programs.  The addition of Blaha, the third American to live aboard the Russian Mir Space Station; Cabana, the commander of the first International Space Station assembly mission; O'Connor, commander of the first shuttle mission dedicated to life sciences; and Shriver, commander of the mission to deploy the Hubble Space Telescope, will bring the number of space explorers enshrined in the Astronaut Hall of Fame to 70. 

The 2008 inductees were selected by a committee of current Hall of Fame astronauts, former NASA officials and flight directors, historians, journalists and other space authorities. The process is administered by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation, created in 1984 to support students seeking careers in science and technology.  To be eligible, an astronaut must have made his or her first flight at least 17 years before the induction year and must be retired at least five years from NASA's astronaut corps. Candidates must be a U.S. citizen, NASA-trained and must have orbited the earth at least once.  Committee members receiving ballots evaluate not only an individual's flight accomplishments but also how he or she contributed to the success and future success of the U.S. Space Program in post-flight assignments.

John E. Blaha (Colonel, USAF, Ret.) Blaha

 Robert D. Cabana (Colonel, USMC, Ret.)

 Bryan D. O'Connor (Colonel, USMC, Ret.)

Loren J. Shriver (Colonel, USAF, Ret.)

About the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony:

The public is invited to witness heroes honoring heroes at the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, May 3, 2008 at 3:00 p.m.

• The Induction Ceremony is included with admission to Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex.  Special Induction weekend ticket packages are available for $70 plus tax for adults and $50 plus tax for children and include the following:

• Two-day Admission to Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex and the U.S Astronaut Hall of Fame Reserved seating at the Induction Ceremony at 3:00 p.m.

• A special Lunch With the Astronauts on May 3 at 11:30 a.m.

• Commemorative souvenir poster featuring the 2008 Inductees

• U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction weekend tickets are available by telephone at 321-449-4400 or online at  Local accommodations are also available.