Andre Johnson and J.J. Watt Earn 2014 Pro Bowl Invitations

Jo-Carolyn Goode | 12/30/2013, 3:33 p.m.
Two Houston Texans were named to the 2014 NFL Pro Bowl, the NFL announced today. Houston will send WR Andre ...
J.J. Watt and Andre Johnson

Two Houston Texans were named to the 2014 NFL Pro Bowl, the NFL announced today. Houston will send WR Andre Johnson and DE J.J. Watt to Honolulu, Hawaii for the League’s feature of the best players on Sunday, January 26, 2014. This marks the 10th consecutive season that the Texans have had at least one player elected to the Pro Bowl.

Johnson (6-3, 230) will be making his seventh trip to the Pro Bowl in his career. He is second in the NFL with 103 receptions to go along with 1,358 receiving yards and five touchdowns. Johnson, who is 14th in NFL history with 921 receptions and 17th with 12,612 receiving yards, became the second-fastest player in league history to reach 900 career receptions (150 games) and 12,000 receiving yards (146 games) this season. Additionally, he became the second player in NFL history to have five seasons with 100-or-more receptions. He also set a franchise record with three touchdown receptions in Week 9 against Indianapolis, a game in which he recorded nine receptions for 229 yards.

“It never gets old,” said Johnson about being selected to the Pro Bowl. “It’s a humbling experience being around a bunch of great guys and it just shows you hard work pays off.”

Watt is making a return trip to Hawaii for his second-straight Pro Bowl appearance. He followed up his Associated Press 2012 Defensive Player of the Year campaign by totaling a career-high 108 tackles, 9.5 sacks, 17 tackles for loss, a league-high 44 quarterback hits, three forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries, six passes defensed and two blocked field goals. Since entering the NFL in 2011, his 174 solo tackles lead the NFL among defensive linemen, his 35.5 sacks are fourth in the NFL, his 106 quarterback hits lead the NFL, his 26 passes defense are tops among defensive linemen and his 69 tackles for loss are the most in the NFL.

“It’s an honor to make the Pro Bowl again,” said Watt. “I’m always proud to represent the Houston Texans in everything I do.”

Texans T Duane Brown, CB Johnathan Joseph and C Chris Myers were named as alternates for the AFC squad.

The 2014 Pro Bowl teams will be determined through the Pro Bowl Draft held on Wednesday, January 22. Pro Football Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders will serve as alumni captains, choosing the two rosters.