Advisory Committee Selected to Help Guide Arts and Cultural Plan Process

Jo-Carolyn Goode | 11/19/2014, 3:07 p.m.
As part of the community engagement process, the Mayor’s Office of Cultural Affairs has announced the creation of a volunteer ...
Mayor Annise Parker and Co-Chairs Philamena Baird and Rick Lowe

As part of the community engagement process, the Mayor’s Office of Cultural Affairs has announced the creation of a volunteer committee to provide advice on the Arts and Cultural Plan vision and components.

Members of the new Arts and Cultural Plan Community Advisory Committee were invited to participate by Mayor Annise Parker and Co-Chairs Philamena Baird and Rick Lowe. The group includes individuals with a wide range of cultural backgrounds and community involvement from the nonprofit and creative sectors as well as the business community, academia, community development and service organizations, faith and healthcare.

“This is an exceptional group of individuals with significant expertise and insight,” said Mayor Parker. “Their contribution to the process will be invaluable.”

Community Advisory Committee members:

Omar Afra – Owner of Free Press Houston, Producer of the Free Press Summer Festival

Philamena Baird - Arts and Cultural Plan Co-Chair, Vice Chair of the Houston Arts Alliance, Boards of Directors of Children at Risk, Houston Sports Authority

Jane Cahill - Vice-President of the Super Neighborhood Alliance, Past-President of the Washington Avenue Coalition/Memorial Park Super Neighborhood (SN 22)

Cecil C. Conner, Jr. - Managing Director Emeritus of the Houston Ballet, Houston First Board of Directors

Terri Diraddo - Arts & Events Manager, Brookfield Office Properties

Jefferson Todd Frazier - Director, Methodist Hospital’s Center for Performing Arts Medicine

Roland Garcia - Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig, LLP, Boards of Directors of Greater Houston Partnership and Houston Arts Alliance, Mayor's Hispanic Advisory Board

Sonia Garza-Monarchi - Garza Protocol Associates, LLC, Chair of the Greater Houston Convention and Visitors Bureau

Harry Gee - Harry Gee, Jr. and Associates, Houston Technology Center Board of Directors, UT School of Law Engergy Center Advisory Board

Jonathan Glus - President and CEO, Houston Arts Alliance

Guy Hagstette - Consultant, Buffalo Bayou Partnership, Blueprint Houston Board Member, General Plan Steering Committee

Vernita Harris - President of Impact Strategies Consultants, Chair of the Greater Houston Black Chamber of Commerce

Tammy Kahn - Executive Director, Children’s Museum of Houston

Yani Rose Keo - Executive Director, Alliance for Multicultural Community Services

Duncan F. Klussmann - Superintendent of Schools, Spring Branch Independent School District

Perryn Leech - Managing Director of the Houston Grand Opera, Chair of the Theater District Association

Rick Lowe - Arts and Cultural Plan Co-Chair, Founder of Project Row Houses

Ayanna Mccloud - Artist and Program Director of Friends of Women’s Studies at the University of Houston

David D. Medina - Director of Multicultural Community Relations, Rice University, Mayor's Hispanic Advisory Board, Nuestra Palabra Board of Directors

Jim Mills - General Manager of The Houstonian, Past Chair of the Hotel & Lodging Association of

Greater Houston

B.N. Murali - President of Beeken TechQuest Ltd., Chinmaya Mission Houston Board of Directors

Judy Nyquist - Community Volunteer, Boards of Directors of Buffalo Bayou Partnership, Hermann

Park Conservancy, Houston Arts Alliance

Theola Petteway - Executive Director, OST/Almeda Corridors Redevelopment Authority

Juanita Rasmus - Co-Pastor, St. John’s United Methodist Church

Robert Robbins - President and CEO, Texas Medical Center

John Roberts - Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, University of Houston