National Association of Black Journalists Announces 2015-2016 Hall of Fame Inductees

Induction Ceremony to be Held December 16, 2015 in Washington, DC

Jo-Carolyn Goode | 8/4/2015, 11:03 a.m.
The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is pleased to announce its 2015-2016 Hall of Fame Inductees, recipients of the ...

WASHINGTON, DC (July 20, 2015) - The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is pleased to announce its 2015-2016 Hall of Fame Inductees, recipients of the highest recognition given by the organization. The induction ceremony will take place at the Marriott Wardman Park in Washington, DC on December 16, 2015 as part of NABJ's 40th Anniversary Gala.

The inductees are:

Tony Brown: Broadcast journalism legend, producer and host of "Tony Brown's Journal," the longest-running national Black-affairs TV series in history

Charles Gerald Fraser: New York Times journalism pioneer and inspirational mentor for generations of reporters

• Monica Kaufman Pearson: First African American and first woman to anchor a daily evening Atlanta television news broadcast

Dorothy Leavell: Chicago-based crusading force and voice of the Black Press in America

Dori Maynard: President of the Maynard Institute for Journalism Education and advocate for diversity in American journalism

Gil Noble: Producer and host of WABC-TV's iconic program, "Like It Is"

Austin Long-Scott: Integrated the Associated Press full-time reporting staff, powerful Washington Post and Los Angeles times social justice writer and journalism educator

Jacqueline Trescott: Compelling and ground-breaking writer for the Washington Post on the cultural life and achievements of African Americans

Morrie Turner: Creator of "Wee Pals", the first syndicated comic strip with racially and ethnically diverse characters

John H. White: Chicago's Pulitzer Prize-winning photojournalist and photojournalism educator

L. Alex Wilson: Courageous reporter of the Civil Rights Movement for Sengstacke Newspapers in the 1950s

"NABJ is honored to recognize this exemplary group of African American journalists whose work has broken-barriers and reached the highest standards in journalism," said NABJ Executive Director Darryl Matthews, Sr.

The NABJ Hall of Fame was created in 1990 when 10 distinguished historical journalists became its charter members. Since then, 53 of the nation's top journalists have been inducted, among them: Chuck Stone, Gwen Ifill, Robert Maynard, Lynn Norment, Ed Bradley and Carole Simpson. For a complete listing of previous inductees, visit

The Hall of Fame Induction is presented by NABJ, an organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide. Founded in Washington, D.C. by 44 men and women on December 12, 1975, NABJ is the largest organization of journalists of color in the nation.

Sponsorship opportunities for the NABJ 40th Anniversary Gala and Hall of Fame Induction are available and will demonstrate your commitment to the NABJ, a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. For more information, please contact Anita Parker at (703) 506-7161. Tickets for the Gala and Hall of Fame will be available for purchase in September, 2015.

For up-to-date, insider information, follow the NABJ on Twitter @nabj and Facebook.

About The National Association of Black Journalists:

An advocacy group established in 1975 in Washington, D.C., NABJ is the largest organization for journalists of color in the nation, and provides career development as well as educational and other support to its members worldwide. For additional information, please visit,