Correa Named American League Rookie of the Year

Becomes second player in club history to earn award; Conference call scheduled for tonight at 7:00 p.m. CT

Jo-Carolyn Goode | 11/16/2015, 5:58 p.m.
The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) announced the winners of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award tonight, ...
Houston Astros shortstop Carlos Correa

HOUSTON, TX - The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) announced the winners of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award tonight, naming Astros shortstop Carlos Correa the American League Rookie of the Year and Kris Bryant the National League Rookie of the Year.

The BBWAA has set up a conference call for Correa, who is currently in his native Puerto Rico, tonight at 7:00 p.m. CT. Per BBWAA policy, only BBWAA members are permitted to ask questions during the call, but all media are allowed to listen. The conference call can be accessed by dialing 800-704-0878.

Correa, who debuted on June 8 and was the youngest position player in the Majors this season, hit .279 (108x387) with 22 doubles, 22 home runs, 68 RBI, 14 stolen bases and an .857 OPS in his 99 games in 2015. Among AL rookies, Correa ranked first in home runs, slugging (.512) and OPS, while ranking second in RBI and on-base percentage (.345), and third in batting average (min. 400 PA). With 22 home runs this season, Correa set both the franchise rookie record for home runs and the franchise record for home runs by a shortstop.

The only rookie shortstop in Major League history to record more career homers than Correa prior to turning 21 was Alex Rodriguez (26HR). Correa also became one of 19 players in Major League history to record 22 homers before his age-21 season, a list that includes seven Hall of Famers.

Correa’s success continued into October, as he became the youngest player in American League history to record a multi-homer game in the postseason, which he did in Game 4 of the ALDS. He also joined Joe DiMaggio (1936) and Mickey Mantle (1952) as just the third player in Major League history age 21 or younger to hit third in the starting lineup of a postseason game.

Correa becomes just the second player in franchise history to win the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award, joining first baseman Jeff Bagwell, who won the National League award in 1991. He also becomes the sixth Puerto Rico native to win the Rookie of the Year, joining Orlando Cepeda (1958), Benito Santiago (1987), Sandy Alomar (1990), Carlos Beltran (1999) and Geovany Soto (2008).

This award, in which Correa topped AL finalists Francisco Lindor and Miguel Sano, gives Correa a clean sweep of the major rookie awards this offseason, as he has already been named the Sporting News AL Rookie of the Year and the MLBPA Players Choice Award for the AL Most Outstanding Rookie.

Correa was one of three Astros finalists for BBWAA Awards as manager A.J. Hinch is a finalist for AL Manager of the Year and left-handed pitcher Dallas Keuchel a finalist for the AL Cy Young. The winner of the remaining BBWAA awards will be announced live on MLB Network this week with the Manager of the Year announced tomorrow (Nov. 17), the Cy Young on Wednesday (Nov. 18) and the Most Valuable Player on Thursday (Nov. 19).