Correa Named American League Rookie of the Year

Becomes second player in club history to earn award; Conference call scheduled for tonight at 7:00 p.m. CT

Jo-Carolyn Goode | 11/16/2015, 5:58 p.m.
The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) announced the winners of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award tonight, ...
Houston Astros shortstop Carlos Correa

Houston has picked up two national BBWAA awards in the same year just once, in 1986, when Scott won the Cy Young and Lanier won the Manager of the Year. The last time any Major League team had three individuals win three of the four BBWAA awards in a single season was in 1993 when the White Sox were represented by Gene Lamont (Manager of the Year), Jack McDowell (Cy Young) and Frank Thomas (MVP).

This announcement continues a busy award season for the Astros, as Hinch and his 2015 Astros have been named award winners and finalists for several major awards. A full list of offseason awards and recognitions involving 2015 Astros is below.

Jose Altuve

-Rawlings AL Gold Glove winner, second base

-AL Silver Slugger winner, second base

-MLBPA Players Choice Always Game Award

Jason Castro

-Rawlings AL Gold Glove finalist, catcher

Carlos Correa

-BBWAA AL Rookie of the Year

-MLBPAA Players Choice Award for AL Most Outstanding Rookie

-The Sporting News AL Rookie of the Year

Dallas Keuchel

-MLBPAA Players Choice Award for AL Most Outstanding Pitcher

-BBWAA AL Cy Young finalist

-Rawlings AL Gold Glove winner, pitcher

-The Fielding Bible Award, given to the best fielding pitcher in the Major Leagues

-The Starting Pitcher on the Sporting News AL All-Star Team

-Warren Spahn Award, given to the top left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball

A.J. Hinch

-BBWAA AL Manager of the Year finalist

For more information, visit