Biden for President Announces Latino Leadership Committee Co-Chaired by Former Secretaries Ken Salazar and Hilda L. Solis

The Latino Leadership Committee Will Consist of State and Local Leaders from Across the Country to Mobilize the Latino Vote

Style Magazine Newswire | 7/3/2020, 1:31 p.m.

Today, Biden for President announced its Latino Leadership Committee, which includes a core group of Latino leaders who will work closely with campaign leadership to engage Latino voters and communicate how Joe Biden will fight for Latino families. The Committee will work closely with campaign leadership to recruit talent in battleground states, provide input on policy initiatives, engage community leaders, and provide input on Latino outreach. Los Angeles Supervisor and former Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis and former Colorado United States Senator and Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar will serve as co-chairs of the Committee, which is composed of leaders from Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The Committee was established to reflect the diversity within the Latino community.

“As the nation falls further into unrest, unemployment soars, and COVID-19 cases spike, we need a leader at the helm who has the experience, moral fortitude, and compassion to not only guide this nation out of this crisis, but help the country heal,” said former Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis. “With the Latino community being disproportionately impacted by COVID-19 both economically and health-wise, it will be critical to have an ally in the White House. That ally is Joe Biden, and I’m honored to be leading the charge in mobilizing my Latino brothers and sisters to ensure that Donald Trump is a one term president.”

“With 32 million Latinos eligible to vote, Latinos will be the largest non-white voting bloc in this upcoming election — and we are not taking that for granted. This campaign understands that the community is not a monolith and the necessity of having diverse voices in the conversations surrounding strategy and outreach ” said former Secretary of Interior Ken Salazar. “Joe Biden understands the Latino community is a keystone to our democracy and future prosperity of the United States. We are proud to stand with him to end the Trump Administration assault on the more than 60 million Latinos across the nation, and to usher in a more just and prosperous nation for all Americans.”

"I am running to build an America that works for everyone, and giving Latinos a shot at the American dream is a core part of my vision for this nation,” said Vice President Joe Biden. “I am honored to have such a strong group of elected leaders on this committee— many who I have known for a very long time —that embody the diversity of the Latino community and I know that their insights will prove invaluable in supporting my campaign’s Latino outreach efforts across the United States. And with my good friends Hilda and Ken leading the charge, I know that the committee will ensure that Latinos have a voice on my campaign. ”

The announcement of the Latino Leadership Committee comes on the heels of the campaign’s $15 million, five-week TV, digital, radio, and print advertising investment in English and Spanish-language content in Florida and Arizona, two critical battlegrounds for mobilizing the Latino vote. These investments represent a significant move early in the general election that reflects the seriousness of the campaign’s outreach to the Latino community. Additionally, the campaign is continuing to host events, build community, and have conversations about the issues impacting Latino communities through the Todos con Biden network including the Charla con Dr. Jill Biden recently hosted with former Labor Secretary Hilda L. Solis and labor activist Dolores Huerta.

The full Latino Leadership Committee includes:


Congressman Raúl Grijalva

Congressman Ruben Gallego

State Representative Lorenzo Sierra

Mayor Regina Romero


Congressman Tony Cárdenas

Secretary of State Alex Padilla

State Senator Melissa Hurtado

Mayor Eric Garcetti

Mayor Robert Garcia


Former Secretary Federico Peña

State Senator Bri Buentello

State Senator Leroy Garcia


Congressman Darren Soto

Congresswoman Debbie Mucarsel-Powell

State Senator Annette Taddeo

State Senator Janet Cruz

State Senator José Javier Rodríguez

State Senator Vic Torres


State Representative Brenda López Romero

State Representative Pedro Marín


DNC Hispanic Caucus Chair and State Senator Iris Martinez


Des Moines School Board Member Rob Barron


State Representative Alex Garza


Senator Catherine Cortez Masto

Assemblywoman Selena Torres

Assemblywoman Susie Martinez

New Mexico

Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham

Attorney General Hector Balderas

New York

Congressman Adriano Espaillat

Congresswoman Nydia Velázquez

North Carolina

Mecklenburg County Commissioner Susan Rodriguez-McDowell

Wallace Town Council Member Francisco Rivas-Diaz


State Representative Jessica Miranda


State Representative Danilo Burgos

Rhode Island

Secretary of State Nellie Gorbea


Congresswoman Sylvia Garcia

Congresswoman Veronica Escobar

Congressman Vicente Gonzalez

State Representative Victoria Neave

State Senator José Menéndez


State Representative Alfonso Lopez

State Representative Elizabeth Guzmán


State Representative and Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa