Mayor Turner Police ReformTask Force Members

The 45-Houstonians Named to the Mayor Sylvester Turner Police Reform Task Force

Style Magazine Newswire | 6/26/2020, 9:10 a.m.
Chair – Laurence “Larry” Payne Director of Strategic Partnerships, Civic Engagement and Critical Conversations for the Houston Public Librar
Laurance “Larry” Payne Chair – Mayor Turners Task Force On Police Reform

Chair – Laurence “Larry” Payne, Director of Strategic Partnerships, Civic Engagement and Critical Conversations for the Houston Public Library

1 Bishop James Dixon NAACP

2 Judson Robinson III Houston Area Urban League

3 Mamie Garcia LULAC

4 Bill Fulton Director of Rice University’s Kinder Institute for Urban Research

5 Kirk Watson Founding Dean of University of Houston Hobby School of Public Policy

6 Harrison Guy Chair of the Mayor’s LGBTQ Advisory Board

7 Angel Ponce Senior Customer Service Representative Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities

8 Deric Muhammad Community Activist

9 Trae tha Truth Rapper/Community Activist

10 Bishop C. Andrew “Andy” Doyle Episcopal Diocese of Texas

11 Laura Murillo President and CEO of the Houston Hispanic Chamber

12 Cesar Espinosa Executive Director of FIEL

13 Bob Harvey President and CEO of the Greater Houston Partnership

14 Howard Henderson Founding Director of the Center for JusticeResearch/ Professor of Justice Administration at Texas Southern University

15 Alice Le SW Management District

16 Leonard Kincaid Executive Director of the Houston Recovery Center

17 Emilee Whitehurst Houston Area Women’s Center

18 Rania Mankarious CEO of Crime Stoppers

19 Deborah Fowler Executive Director of Texas Appleseed

20 Pastor Steve Wells Pastor of South Main Baptist Church

21 Tanya Dubose Independence Heights Community Leader/Former Juvenile Probation Officer/Former Parole Officer

22 Judge Marc Carter Former District Criminal Court Judge/Helped Found Treatment Court

23 Wayne Young President/CEO of The Harris Center

24 Michael Dirden Attorney/Police Advisor

25 Pastor Max Miller, Jr. Pastor of Mt. Hebron Missionary Baptist Church

26 Dr. Carla Brailey Professor at Texas Southern University

27 George Ryne Administrator of the Texas Anti-Gang Center

28 Mary Champion Closner Harris County Juvenile Probation Officer

29 Rose Brown Experience in the Criminal Justice Field/Board Member of the National Association of Black in Criminal Justice

30 Timothy Luckey Graduate of Houston Baptist University and Active in the Local Community with Youth Develop- ment Activities

31 Keith Mosing Chairman and CEO of Western Airways, Inc./Board Member of the Memorial Hermann Foundation, Kickstart Kids, Houston Police Foundation

32 David Shin Computer Programmer for Honeywell/President of the Korean American Association and Community Center of Houston

33 Robert Satcher American Physician, Chemical Engineer and NASA Astronaut

34 Lacy Wolf AFL-CIO 35 Gerry Birnberg Attorney/Member of the Independent Police Oversight Board

36 Kathy Flanagan President of Houston Medical Reform

37 Shekira Dennis Civic Engagement Advocate/Community Organizer

38 Noah Horwitz Millennial

39 Jaylon Wingfield Millennial

40 Deric Childress, Jr. Millennial

41 Shariq Abdul Ghani Director of the Minaret Foundation/Founder of Crescent Youth

42 Rabbi Gideon Estes President of Houston Rabbinical Association

43 Pastor Jose Ortega National Association of Christian Churches

44 Terry Bratton Chairman of the Houston Police Officers’ Pension System Board of Trustees

45 Bobby Singh