HCC’s 2017 Black History Scholarship Gala

Back to photo galleries

Photography by Vicky Pink - Annually the Black History Committee sets out to raise funds to support the educational endeavors of African Americans students or those of African heritage with the Black History Scholarship Gala. Under the theme, “Thinking Globally Acting Locally,” Houston Community College highlighted the efforts of a UN dynamo. The Honorable Teta V. Banks, an internationally known leader and educator who works to educate, inspire and mobilize Americans to support the efforts of the United Nations, was the gala’s keynote speaker. Celebrating the achievements of outstanding local leaders several were recognized. Rev. Bryon C. Stevenson, Sonya Taylor Stevenson, and Kandi Eastman were awarded the Unstoppable Leadership Award. Tony Chase and Gene L. Locke were honored with the Joyce M. Reynolds Lifetime Achievement Award. In addition, seven students were awarded scholarships. Khambrel Marshall and Melanie Lawson served as emcees for the evening. Others in attendance were HCC Chancellor Dr. Cesar Maldondo, Dr. Vernus C. Swisher, Janet Dokes, Nettle Washington Douglas, Eva Loredo, Ava Cosey, Christopher Oliver, Dr. Michael Edwards, Mary Benton, Brenda Davis, Jonita Reynolds, State Rep. Ron Reynolds, Senator Borris Miles, Regina Carrington, and Shar-day Campbell.