AKA Epsilon Lambda 50th Anniversary

Back to photo galleries

Photography by Andre from PhotoSae and Emagination Photography - Fifty years ago on September 26, 1969, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. made the University of Houston campus a little prettier with the chartering of the Epsilon Lambda Chapter by Dr. Mattelia B. Grays, Faye B. Bryant, Laconia Cain, Mary Waites, Barbara Marshall, and Richardean Barker. From that time until now the ladies have made a vast impact at UH and the surrounding communities by serving all mankind. Epsilon Lambda celebrated their past and present at grand 50th Anniversary affair. During the celebration where Rushion McDonald was the emcee, chapter charter members, past members of the chapter, as well as other members of AKA were honored including Dr. Mattelia B. Grays, Faye B. Bryant, Mary Waites, Dr. Grenita Lathan, Jolanda Jones, Cynthia Coleman, Tramaine Singleton, Linda Whitley, Johnte Archer, Alicia Cain, Dr. Jonita Reynolds, and Jennifer Holmes. Mayor Sylvester proclaimed Oct. 11th as Epsilon Lambda day in Houston and Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee presented congressional proclamations. Epsilon Lambda exceed their attendance goal and raised $10,000 for their Educational Advancement Foundation Endowment. Others in attendance were Mi'Kayla Jackson, Patricia Roberts, Cherise Story, Polly Sparks Turner, and Gwen Brinkley.