3rd Houston Sports Award

Back to photo galleries

Photography by Francis Page, Jr. - Athletes walked the red carpet at the 3rd Annual Houston Sports Awards presented by Insperity and created by the Harris County – Houston Sports Authority. The affair celebrated individuals of the Houston Sports Community including Hall of Famers Carl Lewis, Mary Lou Retton and Rudy Tomjanovich; Insperity Inspiration Award honoree Peter Berry; Sportsmanship Award winner Texans linebacker Whitney Mercilus; Executive of the Year Astros owner Jim Crane; Coach of the Year Kelvin Sampson; Athlete of the Year Alex Bregman; College Athlete of the Year Jalen Hurts; High School Athlete of the Year Matthew Boling; and Moment of the Year Jose Altuve’s walk-off home run in Game 6 to clinch the American League Championship. Others in attendance Mayor Sylvester Turner, Judge Lina Hidalgo, Commissioner Rodney Ellis, Harris County DA Kim Ogg, Congressman Al Green, Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee, Cindy Clifford, JJ Watt, Ronald Green, Mary Benton, Pastor Byron C. Stevenson, and Lorenza Butler.